Minutes of the International Commission on Polar Meteorology (ICPM), IAMAS 2005, Beijing, August 11, 2005.

Present:

Michael Town, David Reusch, Masataka Shiobara, Tom Bracegirdle, Muyin Wang, Richard Essery, Xiaojun Yuan, John Turner, Tom Lachlan-Cope, David Bromwich

Apologies for non attendance: Michiel van den Broeke, Siobhan O'Farrell, Alexander Baklanov, Yoshio Asuma.

Members:

Steve Warren and Paul Pettre have withdrawn from ICPM. Thanks for their service to ICPM.

The new members are:

Tom Lachlan-Cope from British Antarctic Survey, UK Tom Bracegirdle from University of Reading, UK David Reusch from Penn. State University, USA Jorge Carrasco from Chile Michael Town from University of Washington, USA

ICPM Symposia for Perugia Italy in July 2007:

Cryospheric change and sea level. John Turner will propose this to IAMAS, perhaps as a Union Symposium.

High latitude patterns of variability. Convenor: David Bromwich. Joint between ICPM and ICDM.

Clouds and radiation and air-sea-ice interactions. Convenor: Tom Lachlan-Cope. Joint between ICPM and IAPSO.

Snow, vegetation, and atmosphere interactions. To be proposed to the Committee on Cryospheric Science by Richard Essery. Co-sponsored by ICPM.

IPY Activities of ICPM:

John Turner and Dave Bromwich will develop a joint SCAR-ICPM cluster proposal for the International Polar Year that deals with Antarctic meteorology for the next submission date of September 30, 2005.

Xiaojun Yuan promoted the idea of using the IPY as the stimulus to collect all ship borne meteorological observations from the Southern Ocean, both for process and reanalysis

applications. Dave Bromwich will investigate whether Florida State University or BAS would be willing to act as the data center for these observations.

Officers and Members of ICPM for 2005-2007

Officers:

President: David Bromwich (USA) <u>bromwich.1@osu.edu</u> Secretary: Andrew Carleton (USA) <u>carleton@essc.psu.edu</u> Past President: John Turner (UK) j.turner@bas.ac.uk

Members:

Ian Allison (Australia) i.allison@utas.edu.au

Yoshio Asuma (Japan) asuma@ep.sci.hokudai.ac.jp

Alexander Baklanov (Denmark) alb@dmi.dk

Tom Bracegirdle (UK) swr02tjb@rdg.ac.uk

Jorge Carrasco (Chile) jcarrasco@meteochile.cl

Gunther Heinemann (Germany) gheinemann@uni-bonn.de

John King (UK) j.c.king@bas.ac.uk

Tom Lachlan-Cope (UK) tlc@bas.ac.uk

Viktor Lagun (Russia) lagun@aari.nw.ru

Amanda Lynch (Australia) amanda.lynch@arts.monash.edu.au

Kent Moore (Canada) moore@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca

Siobhan O'Farrell (Australia) siobhan.o'farrell@csiro.au

Michael Pook (Australia) mike.pook@csiro.au

David Reusch (USA) dbr@geosc.psu.edu

Ian Simmonds (Australia) ihs@earthsci.unimelb.edu.au

Charles Stearns (USA) chucks@ssec.wisc.edu

Michael Town (USA) mstown@u.washington.edu

J. Ukita (Japan) jukita@ldeo.columbia.edu

Michiel van den Broeke (The Netherlands) m.r.vandenbroeke@phys.uu.nl