Minutes of the International Commission on Polar Meteorology (ICPM) Meeting, IUGG 2007, Perugia, Italy, Friday July 6, 2007.

#### **Present:**

Ian Allison, Yoshio Asuma, David Bromwich, Shelley Knuth, Matthew Lazzara, Igor Mokhov, Bill Neff, David Reusch, Michael Town, John Turner.

# **Apologies for non attendance:**

Alexander Baklanov, Michiel van den Broeke, Jorge Carrasco, Günther Heinemann, Tom Lachlan-Cope, Viktor Lagun, Amanda Lynch, Kent Moore, Siobhan O'Farrell, Ian Simmonds.

\_\_\_\_\_

#### Members:

Ian Allison, Andrew Carleton, John King, Mike Pook and Chuck Stearns have withdrawn from ICPM or their term of office has come to an end. Thanks for their service to ICPM.

# The new members are:

Neil Adams, Australia Cunde Xiao, China Shelley Knuth, USA. Matthew Lazzara, USA. Igor Mokhov, Russia

New Website address:

http://www.icpm-iamas.aq Site maintained by Tom Lachlan-Cope. Thanks, Tom.

## IUGG Perugia:

- The ICPM Symposium on High Latitudes Modes of Variability (JSM018) that was co-sponsored by ICDM, SCAR, IAHS, IAPSO, and UCCS, was a big success. A total of 30 abstracts were submitted with a total of 21 being presented.
- The ICPM Symposium on Clouds and Radiation and Air-Sea-Ice Interactions (JMS008) that was co-sponsored by IAPSO and SCAR had an interesting range of presentations and one poster. The Symposium successfully brought people from wide range of disciplines together to look at the energy balance over sea ice.

• ICPM partially supported the attendance by Ms. Paola Uribe Raibaudi, Dirección Meteorológica de Chile at IUGG Perugia.

Proposed ICPM Symposia for IAMAS-IAPSO-UCCS Montreal in July 2009 http://www.iamas.org/:

Polar regional climate modeling and global impacts. Conveners: William
Connolley and Annette Rinke. This is now scheduled as a cross-association
symposium with the following details:

Polar regional climate modelling and global relevancy – IAMAS led IAMAS/IAPSO/IASC co-sponsored by ICCL, ICPM, CLIC, SCAR Conveners: Annette Rinke (Lead convenor), Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany (Annette.Rinke@awi.de), A. Proshutinsky, Döscher, W. Connolley, Dave Holland (IAPSO/IACS)

• Observations of high latitude climate change. Conveners: Matthew Lazzara, Shelley Knuth, Michael Town, and David Reusch. IAPSO and IASC will almost certainly be involved with this symposium.

# Future ICPM Sponsored Meetings:

- Second Workshop on Recent High Latitude Climate Change, October 22-24, 2007, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, Seattle, Washington. Cosponsored by Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), Climate and Cryosphere project (CLiC), and ICPM. 20-30 invited attendees expected.
- Workshop on the Supplement to the International Antarctic Forecasters
   Handbook, 3<sup>rd</sup> Antarctic Meteorological Observational, Modeling and Forecasting
   Workshop, Madison, Wisconsin, week of June 9, 2008. Co-sponsored by SCAR
   and ICPM.
- Joint SCAR-IASC (International Arctic Sciences Committee) Open Science Conference. The theme is Polar Research - Arctic and Antarctic Perspectives in the International Polar Year. St. Petersburg, Russia, July 8-11, 2008. Cosponsored by ICPM. See <a href="http://www.scar.org/events/">http://www.scar.org/events/</a>. The first circular is due in October 2007.
- The first major international symposium on the scientific results from the International Polar Year will probably be held in Oslo in June 2010. To be cosponsored by ICPM.

### Officers and Members of ICPM for 2007-20011

# Officers:

President: David Bromwich (USA) bromwich.1@osu.edu

Secretary: Tom Lachlan-Cope (UK) tlc@bas.ac.uk Past President: John Turner (UK) j.turner@bas.ac.uk

#### Members:

Neil Adams (Australia) N.Adams@bom.gov.au Yoshio Asuma (Japan) asuma@sci.u-ryukyu.ac.jp Alexander Baklanov (Denmark) alb@dmi.dk Tom Bracegirdle (UK) TJBRA@pcmail.nerc-bas.ac.uk

Large Company (Chile) iongs company (materials)

Jorge Carrasco (Chile) jorge.carrasco@meteochile.cl

Gunther Heinemann (Germany) heinemann@uni-trier.de

Shelly Knuth (USA) shelleyk@ssec.wisc.edu

Tom Lachlan-Cope (UK) tlc@bas.ac.uk

Viktor Lagun (Russia) lagun@aari.nw.ru

Matthew Lazzara (USA) mattl@ssec.wisc.edu

Amanda Lynch (Australia) amanda.lynch@arts.monash.edu.au

Igor Mokhov (Russia) mokhov@ifaran.ru

Kent Moore (Canada) moore@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca

Siobhan O'Farrell (Australia) siobhan.o'farrell@csiro.au

David Reusch (USA) dbr@geosc.psu.edu

Ian Simmonds (Australia) ihs@earthsci.unimelb.edu.au

Michael Town (USA) mstown@u.washington.edu

J. Ukita (Japan) jukita@ldeo.columbia.edu

Michiel van den Broeke (The Netherlands) m.r.vandenbroeke@phys.uu.nl

Cunde Xiao (China) cdxiao@cams.cma.gov.cn